Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:11 p.m. - 13th July 2007
Soap box city
YAY!! School's out...well I suppose what I mean is work is over for the week.....It's only rained a tiny amount....I managed to avoid omnipotent one for the majority of the day....It's E's birthday and she appeared genuinely chuffed with her birthday pressie....Either that or she was a bloddy good actress....I don't feel toooooo knackered and had a productive day! Way to go!! Who said 13th was unlucky? Eh? Come on own up.....you liar!

On that note, on the whole I believe, life is what you make it...We have been talking again about serendipity v life is what you make it...P is a bit of a romantic and into serendipity however I think most of the time I believe in....well what is it I believe in?

I think you make your own happiness and misery based on your responses to situations...Sooo for example...you are in a traffic jam...a tail back or whatever you call it...you can choose your response to the siuation. You can get cross and angry, frustrated and irritable about it, but it doesn't change the traffic jam or make the jam shorter, or move any quicker or change anything about your own personal situation EXCEPT...Give you a headache, feel aggrieved and hard done by and get you a step closer to heart attack city...OR you can accept the situation and make the most of it. Turn up the radio/CD, watch the world around you and just believe it will pass in time. (Avoid heart attack city and road rage).

Whilst appreciating this is a simplistic view of life...the only thing we as humans have any control over, is our personal responses to situations..We can't make the world fit us...we have to adapt to the world.

Soooo if we are angry does it change anything? No!!

Does fighting resolve issues? NO it doesn't, it means the strongest person/people win.....but it doesn't make them right, it just means they have more power/strength/louder....

Does been passive in a situation help?....No it doesn't, it allows one to blame others for our feelings of unhappiness/negativity, it prevents us from having to take responsibility for the decisions we make in life....

A very good friend once described life as a long playing record...(LP)....at the outer edges (when life starts) the needle appears to go slowly, it's eons between one Christmas and the next it's millions of days before school holidays, however the older you get, the closer to the centre that needle gets, the quicker lifethe needle goes.

A great analogy in my humble opinion.

So I suppose, I think life is too short for regrets, serendipity would be lovely to believe in...but sometimes too, we have to take stock and see that if we want it badly enough we go out and get it.....the consequences are ours and there is no time for regrets as that needle is spinning closer to the centre and getting quicker!

Finally, before my soap box is returned to speakers corner!!! LONDON!
I WANT to go out for the meal on Wednesday, so I have booked...Omnipotent one can play games with E all night! I'll have fun anyway......I'm more popular than I like to admit (Attending the staff canteen alone today, I ended up with eight others who all said they were pleased to see me) and....ERGH! Humph !!! Errr I will go on that date with a bloke 6 years younger than me on Monday!! BOW....LOCKS!

Two new outfits to purchase this weekend...one for "the date"...MONDAY!!! Why did I say MONDAY!!!?? What the effing hell is there to do on a bloody MONDAY??

AND a "posh meal" Wednesday...that needle is getting closer to the centre!

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!