Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:56 p.m. - 22nd December 2007
Soon be Christmas
Busy few weeks, socially, work and just life. Had a weekend away with L in Moreton in the Marsh, went to some great shops there and also Chipping Campden, which was delightful....if not a tad expensive!....I am spent out now, with more posh scarves, proper handbags and shoes than is decent. I thought I'd treat myself for Christmas!We went to a Mediaevil Christmas event there, it wasn't quite what we had anticipated. We were all velvety and flowy, hats and the works. Nobody else was sadly....and we thought the people doing this cultural event would have made an effort, but it was more choir like! Still it was an excuse for a weekend away and the B and B was great...

The Boss had her birthday and we had a lovely meal for that and also went to MK shopping with L as she is not organised at all. We thought it'd be a cow on Thursday night, when we arrived it was like a ghost town...the shops were empty, the car park was the quietist I have ever known in my life. So we had time to catch a film and a meal too. The waiter was scrummy! He has taken my number and we are meeting up Thursday night....YAY!

On the family front, odd text out of the blue from sis-in-law asking (on her eldest daughters behalf) if I would be thre for Christmas dinner...as politely as possible declined and I asked about swopping pressies AGAIN! She said this Friday, so I arranged to finish work early so I could cook something nice. Then yesterday morning a text to say they would pass by for an hour tonight instead...WHATEVER! I can't believe they are going to her eldest daughters. Eldest daughter has a small 2 bed house. At the house she will have her mom and her dad, my brother, her brother and his girlfriend, her sister and boyfriend and baby, my nephew.....my sis-in-law has a six bed house. Two lounges, dining room, conserverty study and 12 seater dining table.

My brother will have to drive, which will be at least two trips, as sis-in-law will want a drink. My nephew will be dragged from his pressies and be with everybody all day. he often hides away in his bedroom when people are around too much....Oh well who am I to judge?

Not particularly looking forward to this evening at all, it'll be tense as hell. Just need to bite my tongue as much as possible! It's tough only having one brother, no parents, no aunts and uncles ...you have to try and get along with them as failure to do so means you are hacked out completely....and that is tough. I've been through that before with them. A year of not speaking.

So, best behaviour for me tonight, no biting back, take the critisim and smile sweetly. Critisim about being single, my house being smaller than their's, belittle my job....listen to how poor they are, when they are loaded. ARGH!! At least nephew is coming as he likes the computer as much as I do and whilst his mom and dad plonk themselves in front of the TV and move to eat only, we can stay in the study and play computer games.

The Godmother thingy I did a couple of weeks ago was stunning, it was just sooooooooooo warm. The priest was great with all the little kids that were there, he was not at all remote and didn't make it unduly religious. The people were sooooo welcoming, it gave me so much belief in human beings, it was a fantastic after baptism do too, the food was fab and the company was great.


Well I suppose I better go to the darn supermarket and prepare myself for the invasion this evening...Oh how I need luck to get through tonight unscathed!

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!