Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:49 a.m. - 31st May 2009
New York and the seaside
Well what a busy few weeks.

New York was great....The WHOLE experience was stunning. Choosing our own seats online was fab, as we got loads of leg room YAY...Heathrow Terminal 5 is a breeze and the fact everything was on time helps to get the whole thing off to a good start.


The weather (which was forecast to be torrential rain for the whole time), turned out to be stunning-got a bit pink

Did ALL the touristy stuff Central Park (I've only ever been to NY in December before), was stunningly beautiful and quite busy with lots of filming, joggers, speed skaters etc. Rockefeller at night is stunning, Staten Island Ferry (which I've never done before), Statue of Liberty, Empire State, 5th, 6th and 7th Avenue, Bryant Park, Grand Central Station for a lovely evening meal, Macy's, Bloomingdales and Abercrombie and Fitch etc etc etc. We saw the Sex in the City cast too (not that I watch it) as there was some big old gay demonstartion and they were heading it up.

We had a ball and what was great too was immigration at JFk was far more calm than my previous experience of US immigration, there was no shouting or rudeness and it wasn't as intimidating as it has been whenever I've been there before. It's like everyone has had customer service training. Having been to Seattle, Washington, Chicago, and NY previously immigration was soooooo imposing it wasn't true! (Particularly Seattle)....All guns and being shouted out. It was all so calm as they fingerprinted you!! Coming back ...everything on time. I only mention this as I felt sooooo sorry for those people flying Virgin (which I nearly booked) as they were 4 hours late going out (so the people in the next room told us) and then they were going to be 8 hours late coming back (according to the boards at the airport) URGH...My worst nightmare being stuck in the airport.

Last week, we took an urge (due in part I'm sure) to go to the seaside...So off we trotted to Hunstanton (It's the closest)...we didn't quite get there as all roads to Hunstanton were closed (think there had been a car accident), so we got to Heasham which is lovely too. It was great to walk along the coast. See the sea and just generally be outside.

Work ...Hmmmmm well the second (or is it the third) bit of the restructure is now done......My boss has gone loopy.....allllll snappy and grrrrrrr....They had a day out last week to plan the next stage and reading between the lines of her ggrrrrrness, it doesn't give her all the autonomy that she anticipated, it makes her a "puppet" and she isn't sure she has made the right decision...She is incredibly snappy and evil....Hmmmmm and obviously quite unhappy at the moment.

We are next. They issued the new look structure last week and we are certainly and definitely next.. Gawd knows when though, but I should imagine that it will be the next month or so. I spoke to the boss about it, she just yelled....and I mean yelled....."stop anticipating the future and get on with what needs doing now".....Hmmmmmm....touchy eh? Before it would have been "yes, nothing to worry about it'll be a month or two yet and I think you'll be fine"

So what's next, we probably will go with L and J to California in Sept....a road trip to include Yosemite Park amongst other things...We are going to meet at lunchtime today and see what we all want to do and see if it's feasible to do it. We want to be "there" for two weeks so will need to take two and a half weeks off work.....I should be fine, if I don't take much in the summer, L should be fine and J certainly will be...MK hunk may have to beg a bit!!

That's quite a big old trip, but the flights have come done by �50 this week compared to last and we will share the cost of everything else. I want to pay as much up front as humanly possible, then I will have big old spending money...Gone a bit US mad this year! But may get it out of my system for next year. Just don't enjoy the really long flights. Heathrow to LA is about 12 hours .....BUT the end result would be fantastic as the weather should be top banana and Yosemite is somewhere I have always fancied.

Have decided not to sell my house at the moment, house prices aren't brilliant, so instead I will spend a bit getting it into tip top condition. It's fairly OK but I may have a small extension put on the back -not a conservatory but more like an orangery - I might- it really depends on the cost. I actually quite enjoy having "my own" house.....I do love MK hunk to bits....But it's nice to have ones own space too.....Maybe in a year or two when house prices pick up a tad my house will be in "show home" condition and I should get top dollar. I will move in with him then into a big old Edwardian type house or one of the villages.


Well enough rubbish....Off to enjoy the glorious, fantastic, fabulous weather

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!