Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:37 a.m. - 4th February 2006
Speed daters society
It's been a nice week...and once I pick myself up off the floor having nearly passed out for typing that....I'll continue.

Work has been a laugh, well the job itself hasn't been funny, but I've had lots of fun...I do like people, they are so much fun to be around and to laugh with.

P and I have been in stitches, tears streaming down our faces.....her boss is such a self opinionated twasak...we just get the giggles talking about him.....His job means that he should be drippingly smoooooooth. But he is just soooooo uncouth. Twitching, scratching areas no man should scratch in public...and he thinks he is sex on a stick too....it's almost like we can't mention his name without laughing ourselves silly....he say's things like "I'm just going to the toilet,..... I'll be a while". Do we really need to know that???...Do we care?? Are we interested???

Went out to lunch on Wedneday the 1st....my launch into the human race anniversary....with Boss, IS (who is still ill), and P my PA....it was so lovely...Boss treated us all to posh nosh, it was dead sweet.

Had a fantasic bouquet from Northern S when I got back and altogether some wonderful pressies....Clairns make-up, a beautiful outside planter full of pretty plants (which I know if you are under 30 would be a shite pressie...but I love my garden and am over 30)!!! I got loads of Next vouchers, people know my clothes well. Lovely indoor plants, perfume, posh toiletries, CD's galore and books too. Felt dead spoilt.

Lovely meal out that night with Mommy S and co.

Went to IS's for supper on Thursday with J.....what a laugh all round that was. J has joined a dating agency and met one bloke so far, who is OK according to J...but not forever. Bloke no 2 had just text her before she arrived. He sounds soooooooo not her. Guitar playing DIY freak who wanted a landline number as it's too expensive to phone mobiles.

J is just sooooooo posh and ladylike and believes in true ladylike things. She is also very beautiful and so well groomed.....we were picturing the guitar player, he aint too promising that's for sure!...Big shaggy beard, leather elbow patches, slightly unkept and disorganised......who will take her to McDonald's for dinner and want her to pay.

It's probably not the kindest thought to think, but it had us in fits of laughter, especially J's disgruntled face about the text.

She then told us about "the speed daters society".....the middle long table in the canteen at work is quite big...and when I walk past I have often seen J in there with a very unconnected group of individuals. There were 8 of them, 4 blokes and 4 women (now 7 as bloke left)...all very random...in that they don't work with each other directly at all and have very different roles/ages/backgrounds etc....and about three times a year, they slope off early on a Friday and go somewhere posh for lunch. They named themselves "the speed daters" as other people go and talk to them and then move away.

J was telling us that they are considering their 8th member of the group, must be male......Yesterday as I walked past the canteen, they (the speed daters) were having lunch....P's boss (uncouth man) was sitting with them.....I NEARLY fell over laughing......Phoned J later on and asked if he was being "auditioned"....she nearly choked in horror! He sat with them and began chewing food, then taking bits out of his mouth and chucking it on his tray!! URGH! J said she was dying laughing inside when she saw me, as she knew I'd think he was being auditioned and like me, she thinks he's a sloth!!!

She said they are going to "audition" a man that sometimes sits with them, who himself is quite sweet and articulate, so they are planning a Friday lunch soon and thet are inviting him as a one off trial, if he passes the test....articulate, witty etc......he can join!

Haven't seen omnipotent one or E very much at all this week.....he wasn't in on Monday anyway.... and I have had a busy, if not very fun week.

More changes to come at work, so had a couple of meetings with the flirty one....he firts with the world and his wife, mother and the children (so lock up your daughters). Women love him...P who wasn't too impressed at first and was quite critical of C has now fallen under his spell too, so I have to be somewhat careful what I say now....

All of these changes, mean that the management is going to be restructured and Boss saw me late yesterday saying that a particular job is to be advertised sometime next week. It's a huge big new job and that she wants me to apply....I was shocked and flattered and panic stricken; me, CV's and interviews aren't always positive!! Although saying that, I suppose it's been OK up to now...so have to get on and do a CV, which I haven't done in a lifetime.

Cor! The radio is good this morning, I've been up now for about three hours and have only half done the housework....keep thinking "I'll just listen to this and then Hoover"...I LOVE MUSIC.

It's bleeding cold too...just for the record and in case there is doubt...I HATE COLD...BRRRRRRRRRR

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!