Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:50 a.m. - 8th September 2007
Head hunted!
Busy week...Boss back. Boss is a wondeful person, however madness has started. This time of year is always difficult, lots of stuff goes on. Planning for next financial year, thousands of inspections and general pressure.

There are changes upcoming too....but whilst there are whispers of gossip from different parts of the organisation, there isn't anything that strings together as yet. However yesterday Boss did at least confirm there was stuff going on but that it was 10000000% top secret. As ever my Boss is brilliant at keeping stuff top secret and I totally respect her for that.

Had a nice week really, took nephew to the zoo....his choice of where he wanted to go. He had a great time, but sis-in-law moaned lots, saying "what is it with bloody zoo's?" I think she thinks it's in my side of the families genes, like some sort of character defect. I'm just happy to do what ever the kids I look after want to do and often they want to go to the zoo and get up close and personal with the animals...We were there hours and it was really busy, but pleasant enough.

Nephew took some quite good photo's too, which I have uploaded and sent back to him. He was chuffed with his handiwork....I did have to do a fair bit of cropping and one or two were a little shaky, but on the whole he did a great job. He loves taking photo's and finds my camera far easier to use than his mom and dads.


Had a couple of nights out with DD this week, not sure if I want to keep seeing him, I'm a lazy cow these days with men..unless it's just him. I really like him lots but he would rather we see each other all the time, whereas I would happily just meet up occasionally.

These days I feel like I'm turning into my mom, I like my own company (Well someone has to like my company, so it may as well be me), particularly when work is crazy. It's like I can't give to anyone else when I'm busy, need time to jsut heal myself. Oh well we'll see.

The affairs that people have been having with each other at work are now getting to the silly stage. The affairs are coming out so to speak. One couple who have been married less than 1 year seem to be having a fairly torrid time. She is having an affair with his best mate, he's found out (well she has sort of rubbed his nose in it)....he is besotted and instead of knocking everyone out, he is crying in lots of places. Nobody's talking to her and he is gaining sympathy all over the place...the otehr person got a CSA letter and commented that was an expensive shag wasn't it!

The other very obvious affair seems to be gathering momentum, she is now not wearing a wedding ring, having only been maried a couple of years, they were gazing into each others eys over their fish and chips yesterday...EVERYBODY was nudging each other...I felt like I needed a sick bag...I mean to say the cafeteria should be for grabbing your sarnies from, or eaing your lunch, not really appropriate for foreplay...in my opinion....perhaps I'm old fashioned.

Spoke to M in the week, she wants to go to NY just after her b'day this month, I can't possibly do the week she can do....major unmoveable thing at work...she has changed when she wanted to go, originally it should have been on her b'day, but has put it back by a week, which I can't do. So we'll have to look at it all again...BOWLOCKS!

P is looking to sell her house and move up this way, it takes her over an hour to get to work and costs a bomb in petrol. She is going to sell up to release capital so her house in Eire can start to be built. Buy something small here for a year and then rent it out. SO we have been scouring houses that have rental potential. Why do allllllllll my friends move to IRELAND?

One of the things that the Boss did say yesterday was that the changes will bring about opportunities for some people and she hopes at the time that I make the right decision....It was funny as she said another Boss from a different part of the company may approach me to head hunt me! I burst outr laughing....It sounds so bloody funny.

I often consider how I got the job I have. It's a really good job and I get a reasonable salary. But I grew up in a massive council estate up north. Did OK at school, but was always a little shy and quite reserved and to be honest in this job in particular have often said that somebody would find me out....like how the hell did I get this job? Other than being in the right place at the right time....To think that somebody might "head hunt" me, brings me out in a complete fit of the giggles.

It's hilarious in all honesty. I can't imagine that it's true, I think it's just a fear that the Boss has that I may leave here (as in this little town) and move closer to the family. I explained to her, that apart from the family I know hardly anybody there I haven't lived there forever and actually I'd probably be exceedingly lonely living there.

When I got home though, I must admit I did have a look at house prices there!! As being closer to the family at times is very tempting, but I love, respect and trust my boss loads and have my friends here. My boss has always been very kind to me and our particular part of the company is very supportive...no real backstabbing or spite there. Not everywhere is like that sadly.

In addition, I probably would really get found out and that would be bloody awful!


 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!