Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:20 p.m. - 4th December 2007
Chrimbo isn't so cheery
Time has just been flying by of late. No opportunity to update as life has been busy. Had a couple of weekends away in the countryside with L....spent more than I should on a lovely handbag and boots, but I suppose I go through phases of not spending on me....and given I spend a bomb at Christmas on others, so many kids!! �50 worth of vouchers for some dodgy shop or other is about as exciting as it gets,(I am not being ungrateful here.....It's just that my sis in law has 3 adult children and their partners, as well as her and my bruv and nephew.....and although the present I get is off everybody....the expectation is I buy for each individully) so maybe these things will count as my presents to me!

Burford and Bourton have such nice shops compared to where I live, much more tasteful and classy...God I sound a snob and given that I grew up in Englands second City on a council housing estate....there is nowt to be snooty about!

L and I are back at the gym too, trying to get fit for the NY. Neither of us are particularly large, just a bit out of condition compared to how things were when we were going to the gym three or four times a week. I can already feel the benefits in that I'm certainly perkier and have more ooomph. I'm not a lover of being at the gym, but I do like the effects of having been.

Work wise, as ever it's been crazily busy, restructuring is going slowly but is getting there. New job starts in the NY. There is more money...YAY! As well as the opportunity for bonuses...performance related once a year.....which is never a bad thing. It's what to do with the extra few bob though isn't it? I have an urge to splurge! But think it would be more sensible and grown up to bang a bit extra onto the old mortgage payments and add a little to the old pension as opposed to go shopping for clothes and even a new car or move house ....all things that are running round in my head.

Family wise...well urrrrm, there seems to be a bit of a problem! Bollocks! Sis-in-law is being less than warm and friendly, tried asking what was up and got flamed by her....So looks like I'm person non gratia again....and as ever, I'm totally in the dark as to what is wrong....if I've done something or if as ever, the dear sis in law has worked her way round and now it's my turn to be in the dog house. She has the arse on with somebody most of the time. To be fair it's only me about every three or four years and so it's perhaps it about due. It was four years or so ago last time that I became a little alienated, then it was the eldest daughter, then the ex-hubby then eldest son. One or two friends had it in the neck too.

Last time I heard it was her other two sis in laws.....so thought I was doing well!! Oh well, Chrimbo looks like it'll be here for me.....maybe it won't be such a bad thing, last year I had to flee as sis in law's daughter and sis in law started a war on Boxing Morning, so I came home....only when I got here did I realise I had no grub!! I'd spent a fortune on stuff to take there too. Grr!

Brother will keep his head down for a few weeks no doubt and avoid the cross fire, he'll be quietly avoidant....

Anyway, today was a day off work to get organised for Chrimbo and I am delighted to say I've got it all done apart from one pressie which I need from town here and I'll pop and get that tomorrow sometime, as well as a load of wrapping paper and all those bows, bags and ribbons.

This Sunday I'm God Mother at a Christening...(awwwww even though I'm not religious and they know it)...a little gal and then the weekend after L and I have booked to go to the Cotswolds for a bit of Chrimbo cheer and a bit of a do that we spotted when we were last there. We ordered the tickets last night online and they should be winging their way here any day soon!

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!