Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:20 p.m. - 29th June 2008
Visiting my old home
Two entries in two days...It must be summer or something....Or is it that there are no playmates today? Maybe it's the latter. Boss and P away, L's dad visiting, S at her moms and the hunk from MK is working today.

Up at the crack of dawn and have spent all day visiting places. I've been to where the job offer would mean moving to. So bizarre visiting that area of the world. I lived less than a mile from the new place until I was eight years old. It's changed a bit, but my gosh it is so similar too.

I drove to where I lived as a child and wandered round the park that I have a great photo of. It's my mom and I when I was a baby. The park is beautifully maintained. I drove past my baby school and then onto where my nan used to live. I went round that park too, sadly that isn't as well maintained. I drove for about an hour round where my childhood memories are from. It's amazing the clarity of how it all looked, nothing much has changed at all....'cept there are far less high rise flats and the teraffic was heavy.

I drove on in towards City and stopped at the park there, it's massive and very beautiful.....on the way I passed so many area's that had familiar names..I drove past people going to the church/mosques...I drove through affluent parts of the city and then parts of the city that are so run down, but had the most fantastic choice of fruit and veg out to buy.

I went to see the area we moved to when I was eight, that has sort of grown up a bit. The trees are lovely, but the area is poor. I went to the cemetry to "see" my mom. Don't think anyone has been there for a while, it looked a mess. I went and bought some scissors and tidied up there and felt like crying, I still miss my mom loads and I suppose this stuff with my bruv, makes it all tough. Especially when there are hard decisions to make. I was starving by this time, been out for about 4 hours, so I went to the biggest garden centre I know and bought some soup and a coffee.

I also found a great coat jacket there too so treated myself to that as well as some great pots for the garden.

Then onto Leamington shopping. Bought some lovely undies, been wanting some new undies for ever, but not everywhere fits you properly, the shop in Leamington does a grand job of that...spent more than anticiapted but hardly spent any money this months so sod it.

The took a slow ramble back, so was out for nearly nine hours and about 5 of that was driving...petrol in Leamington was �1.15/litre as opposed to �1.22 here, so I treated myself to some petrol too!!!!!

Loved visiting "home". I know I haven't lived in that part of the world for hundreds of years, but I can't describe how that particular part of the world made me feel.....I loved been there. I loved the side of the city that the job was offered to me....BUT a I know not a soul there. It would be starting all over again I suppose and having just made up my bed with clean sheets ready for tonight, would I want the hassle of driving there frequently or even more hassle and moving?

Starting over is what I do too often. Every four or five years it seems like and friendships become transient...Is that what I want? I love the anonimity of where I used to be from, but is that a life I want forever?

Whatever I decide. I LOVED today.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!