Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:56 a.m. - 28th March 2010
Grass issues
So the clocks have gone forward by an hour, which means we get an hour more daylight.....Which when we get it I love. BUT today isn't the brightest of days that I have ever seen. In fact it is a bit dull today to day the least, so I feel a tad cheated .......let's hope this evening brightens up a little and we get the full benefit of the "lighter nights" from day one.

L and I went out for the day yesterday, she is so optimistic. Open toed sandals and a a flimsy blouse and light summer skirt......As we arrived at our destination, so the thick black clouds arrived and the heavens opened and so it lashed it down with rain and felt decidedly chilly. As she had driven there wasn't a brolly to be found in her car....I know I am the boring one whose car does have a brolly in the boot! So perfectly straightened hair became pre Raphaelite style curls for her and her sandals became squelchy - poor cow. Still we did what we needed.....Buy some pressies to post to the USA for her dad's birthday and I also got niece some vouchers for her 21st, which falls on the same day.

I have a grass issue......MY grass looks rubbish. From a distance it looks lush and green and full.....(maybe that's when I haven't got my contact lenses in)......BUT oh my God it is patchy and a bit less than healthy looking in places. Before I went to California last year, I put weed and feed on it and it went a bit mad, felt like I was cutting it every five minutes.....so when I came back it was quite long and too wet to cut and then Winter appeared before I had chance to do it....So I don't know if leaving it too long and then snow has upset it. BUT today I'm gonna have to buy a scarifier. Now I know scarifiers are good for grass, but having done this in a previous life. My grass will look as bald as a coot.........Will I then re seed it? Over seed it? All this advise on various web sites about top soil, seed is not too clear....All I want is for it to look OK, not develop too many dandelions etc....But what is with gardening websites? Confusing/conflicting advise all over the place.

Well enough grumpiness off to B and Q to buy the dastardly scarifier

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!